DATE: Friday, October 30, 2020
SUBJECT: New Sheriff’s Deputy Sworn In
CONTACT: Colonel Noah Robinson
AUTHORITY: Sheriff Dave Wedding

The Vanderburgh County Sheriff’s Office’s newest deputy was sworn in this afternoon. As required by Indiana law, Deputy Taylor Davis took an oath to support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of Indiana and to faithfully discharge the duties of a sheriff’s deputy.

Deputy Davis will begin his training with the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy (ILEA) in early November. The Academy’s basic course for new law enforcement officers consists of over 600 hours of training in a variety of areas including criminal and traffic law, firearms, emergency vehicle operations, physical tactics, accident investigation, criminal investigation, domestic violence and sexual assault, standardized field sobriety testing, crime prevention, as well as drug and narcotics investigation.

After completing his training with the ILEA, Deputy Davis will attend a 160 hour Deputy Training School (DTS) at the Sheriff’s Office where he will receive agency specific training along with reality based scenario training.

Deputy Davis will then enter the 22-week field training program, where sheriff’s deputy instructors will guide him in the application of his training as he patrols the streets and neighborhoods of Vanderburgh County.

After successfully completing all aspects of his training (and receiving passing marks from his training instructors) Deputy Davis will be released from probationary status. The entire process (which includes a conditional offer of employment, background investigation, psychological screening, merit board review, academy training and field training) takes over a year.

Deputy Steven Stuart, who was sworn in this past July as a new deputy sheriff, will graduate from the ILEA on November 13 and return to the Sheriff’s Office for further training.

Pictured above: Chief Deputy Noah Robinson presented Deputy Taylor Davis with his first badge.

Pictured above: County Clerk Carla Hayden administers the oath of office.

Pictured above: Deputy Steven Stuart is sworn in on July 21, 2020.