DATE: June 21, 2024
SUBJECT: Sheriff’s Office Holds Recognition Ceremony
CONTACT: Chief Deputy Nathan Sugarman
AUTHORITY: Sheriff Noah Robinson

On Friday, June 21, 2024, Vanderburgh County Sheriff Noah Robinson welcomed guests at the Old Vanderburgh County Courthouse for an awards ceremony.  Family, friends, colleagues, and other guests attended to recognize a number of employees.  The ceremony featured two newly appointed deputy sheriffs sworn in by Vanderburgh Clerk of the Circuit Court Carla Hayden.

Additionally, members of the office were recognized for professional accomplishments, life-saving actions and the performance of other extraordinary tasks while on duty.

Sheriff Robinson stated, “With the full support of the Vanderburgh County Council, the Sheriff’s Office has finally achieved our staffing goals. The result has been a jail that can now operate as originally intended.”

Below is a list of recipients and their accomplishments:


  • Erik Nilssen – Sheriff’s Community Service Award
  • Alexis Berggren (Explore Evansville) – Sheriff’s Citizen Appreciation Award
  • Nick Adams (EMA) – Sheriff’s Citizen Appreciation Award
  • Deputy Skye Terhune – Sheriff’s Lifesaver Award
  • Confinement Officer Jared Payne – Sheriff’s Lifesaver Award
  • Deputy Nathan Tidwell – Sheriff’s Lifesaver Award
  • Deputy Jacob Fuller – Sheriff’s Lifesaver Award
  • Deputy Tobin Riney – Sheriff’s Lifesaver Award
  • Deputy Cody Brandenstein – Sheriff’s Lifesaver Award x Two
  • Deputy Craig Carroll – Sheriff’s Lifesaver Award
  • Deputy Roman Weinzapfel – Sheriff’s Lifesaver Award


  • Deputy Lexi Bell-  Criminal Investigations Section Detective
  • Confinement Officer Adam Grogan – Confinement Training Officer
  • Confinement Officer Austen Pace – Confinement Training Officers
  • Confinement Officer Austin Jones – Jail K9 Handler
  • Confinement Officer Jaylen Barnes – Armed Transport Officer
  • Confinement Officer Karim Ndoye – Armed Transport Officer


  • Jan Happe – Served the Vanderburgh County Sheriff’s Office for 29.5 years before retiring on April 28, 2024.


  • Macy Pace
  • Zachery Strickland